

## The Indian Institute of Metals

### Jamshedpur Chapter

Room#14, Centre for Excellence, Jamshedpur – 831 001, Tel: +91 657 2148883;

Email: sandip.bhattacharya@tatasteel.com; tanmay.bhattacharyya@tatasteel.com

### Advisory Committee:

Mr Anand Sen Dr S Srikanth Mr S K Roy Dr T Venugopalan

# Executive Committee (2013-2014)

### Chairman

Dr Sandip Bhattacharyya

### Vice Chairman

Dr M K Agrawal Dr S. K. Ajamani

### Secretary

Mr. Tanmay Bhattacharyya

# Assistant Secretary

Dr K L Sahoo

# **Treasurer**Ms Arthita Dey

**Jt. Treasurer:**Mr Dhirendra Prasad

# **Committee Members**

Dr Soumitra Tarafder Dr Monojit Dutta Dr T Bhaskar Dr Mita Tarafder Mr Pinder Singh Mandley Mr Arpan Das Dr Ashok Kumar Dr A N Bhagat Dr Siddhartha Mishra Ms. Pankhuri Sinha

### **Permanent Invitee:**

Dr M. D. Maheshwari

### **Minutes of Meeting of the Executive Committee**

**Venue:** Room No# 14, CFE **Date:** 19.07.2013 **Time:** 6:30 PM

#### **Present:**

Dr Sandip Bhattacharyya, Dr Soumitra Tarafder, Dr M. D. Maheshwari, Dr M K Agrawal, Dr S. K. Ajamani, Dr Monojit Dutta, Dr Mita Tarafder, Mrs Arthita Dey, Mr Dhirendra Prasad, Dr A N Bhagat, Ms. Pankhuri Sinha, Dr. S Mishra, Mr. P S Mandley, Mr. Tanmay Bhattacharyya

- 1. The proposal for e book for AMIIM aspirants has been principally approved and it has been decided that the same will be released during BTTD 2014. (Process owner: Dr Mita Tarafder)
- 2. Rs. 2,50,000/- has been sanctioned for preparation of the e book as detailed in point 1.
- 3. For amendment of names of the signatories of Technica account, Dr. M K Agrawal has been requested to take necessary action related to the formalities as in the meeting dated 21<sup>st</sup> of June, 2013, the policy decision has been taken and minuted accordingly. (Dr. M K Agrawal)
- 4. It has been decided that a mega quiz contest will be organised at NML on 30.07.2013 to select teams for BPMMQ'13 and the event will be named as 'Prof. S. N. Sinha Memorial Materials and Metallurgy Quiz (SNSM3Q 2013)'. The winner & runner teams will be suitably rewarded by IIM Jamshedpur Chapter on 30<sup>th</sup> July evening itself. In addition, both the teams will be sent to participate in Prof. Brahm Prakash Memorial Materials Quiz 2013 followed by an Elocution Contest on specified topics during 20-21<sup>th</sup> September 2013 at Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu. A team has been formed comprising Dr. Mita Tarafder as convener and Mr. Dhirendra Prasad, Mr. Arpan Das, Ms. Pankhuri Sinha and Dr. Chiradeep Ghosh as members to facilitate the activities. Chairman and Secretary will review the progress and smooth functioning from time to time. Director NML will be requested to extend necessary supports for sending the teams to IGCAR. Former secretary, Mr. N Dey, will accompany the teams and make necessary arrangements for their travel. Dr. Shantanu Chakrabarti will be requested to guide the two teams for elocution and quiz (Dr. Mita Tarafder to coordinate the same).
- 5. Secretary to present a tabular chart in the next meeting to project the compliances against different targets/ activities. (Action: Secretary)
- 6. The following decisions were taken in the meeting:
  - a. All organisations/ institutes will be requested to nominate only the Life Members for IIM Awards,
  - b. A team comprising Dr Maheshwari, Dr Agrawal and Dr Tarafder will finalise the name of the awardee for M S Khan Memorial Trophy before next meeting
  - c. This year application will be sent for the best chapter award,
  - d. An infrastructure committee has been instituted under the stewardship of Dr. M D Maheshwari.
  - e. All existing accounts of IIM Jamshedpur chapter including seminar/ conferences accounts will be closed and merged with the main IIM savings bank account.

Compiled by Tanmay Bhattacharyya 22nd July 2013