

The Indian Institute of Metals

Jamshedpur Chapter

Room#14, Centre for Excellence, Jamshedpur – 831 001
Tel: +91 657 2148883; Email: star@nmlindia.org; monojitdutta@tatasteel.com

Executive Committee (2012-2013)

Chairman

Dr Soumitra Tarafder

Vice Chairman

Dr Sandip Bhattacharya Dr M K Agarwal

Secretary

Dr Monojit Dutta

Assistant Secretary

Dr K L Sahoo

TreasurerMs Arthita Dey

Committee

Members

Dr T Venugopalan Mr Nilotpal Dey Dr M D Maheshwari Dr Siddhartha Misra Dr (Ms) Mita Tarafder Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya Dr Goutam Das Mr Dhirendra Prasad Dr Ashok Kumar Mr Arpan Das

Minutes of Annual General Meeting of the Indian Institute of Metals Jamshedpur Chapter

Venue: Library Hall, Centre for Excellence **Date:** 25.05.2013 **Time:** 7:00 PM

Present:

Dr Soumitra Tarafder Chairman Dr Sandip Bhattacharyya Vice Chairman Dr Monojit Dutta Secretary Ms Arthita Dey Treasurer Mr Nilotpal Dey EC Member Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya **EC** Member EC Member Dr S Mishra Dr (Ms) Mita Tarafder EC Member Mr Dhirendra Prasad EC Member Dr Ashok Kumar EC Member Mr Arpan Das **EC** Member

Mr S K Roy Advisory Committee Member
Dr A K Vais Advisory Committee Member

(plus other members)

- 1. Dr Soumitra Tarafder chaired the meeting,
- 2. Welcoming all members present, the Chairman appreciated the effort from all to make the mega event i.e. NMD-ATM 2012 a great success. He also mentioned about the sad demise of Prof. S N Sinha, an Advisory Committee member and ex-Chairman of Jamshedpur Chapter; a condolence was already observed in the last EC meeting.
- 3. Dr Monojit Dutta presented the Secretary's Report (copy attached) and highlighted the activities organised by the chapter during last year.
- 4. Ms Arthita Dey, the Chapter Treasurer presented the audited statement of accounts (a copy was circulated to all present prior to the meeting) and it was passed.
- 5. Election of the new office bearers took place. The Advisory Committee was reconstituted with Mr Anand Sen, Dr S Srikanth, Mr S K Roy and Dr T Venugopalan as members. Dr M D Maheshwari will be a Permanent Invitee. The detail of the new Executive Committee is attached below.
- 6. During the Question-Answer session, it was felt that the new committee must put emphasis for enhanced participation of the members in several initiatives taken by the chapter over the years and to reinforce its communication wing. To strengthen the same and to involve the students' fraternity, a new website has been recently launched with the address http://bdms.nmlindia.org/iimjsr, which is linked with the central website of The Indian Institute of Metals. It was also proposed to take a special initiative in memory of Prof. S N Sinha.
- 7. The AGM was finished with a Vote of Thanks by Dr S Bhattacharya and followed by a high tea.

Compiled by Monojit Dutta

27 May 2013



The Indian Institute of Metals

Jamshedpur Chapter

Room#14, Centre for Excellence, Jamshedpur – 831 001
Tel: +91 657 2148883; Email: star@nmlindia.org; monojitdutta@tatasteel.com

Executive Committee (2012-2013)

Chairman

Dr Soumitra Tarafder

Vice Chairman Dr Sandip Bhattacharya Dr M K Agarwal

SecretaryDr Monojit Dutta

Assistant Secretary Dr K L Sahoo

TreasurerMs Arthita Dey

Committee Members

Dr T Venugopalan Mr Nilotpal Dey Dr M D Maheshwari Dr Siddhartha Misra Dr (Ms) Mita Tarafder Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya Dr Goutam Das Mr Dhirendra Prasad Dr Ashok Kumar Mr Arpan Das

Secretary's Report

(Presented at the AGM of IIM Jamshedpur Chapter on 25th May 2013)

Chapter Chairman, Dr Soumitra Tarafder, Vice Chairman, Dr Sandip Bhattacharyya and Dr MK Agarwal, members of the Executive Committee and all distinguished members – It's my privilege to read out the Secretary's report before you.

A series of activities took place last year involving national and international experts and young and energetic students in the area of metallurgy and materials. I must start with the mega event i.e. the 50th National Metallurgist Day and the 66th Annual Technical Meeting of IIM, which was held in Jamshedpur during 16-19 November 2012. This was organised with a great success jointly with Tata Steel and in association with Ranchi, Bokaro and Ghatsila chapters. It was a great joy for all Chapter members that Mr HM Nerurkar, MD, Tata Steel has taken over as the President of IIM, which was celebrated by the Chapter with a felicitation function. All the award winners of NMD-2011 and NMD-2012 from this chapter were felicitated in two separate functions. A Workshop on Spectroscopic Analysis and two lectures by overseas professors were also arranged during last year.

IIM, Jamshedpur Chapter always emphasises on student activities and in bringing them to the core metallurgical actions. An Inter-school quiz programme was held and the top two students were sponsored to take part in the National Level of "Prof. Brahm Prakash Memorial Materials Quiz" at Kalpakkam. The unique students' seminar "Behind the Teachers Desk" (BTTD-2013) along with a visit to local industries was organised for the third consecutive year with an overwhelming participation of 170 metallurgical engineering students (B.Tech & M.Tech) from 18 reputed engineering colleges across the country.

In coming one year, two international conferences will be held at Jamshedpur and our members are already busy to make them a great success.

On behalf of the Executive Committee and on my behalf I would like to thank each one of you.

Monojit Dutta



The Indian Institute of Metals

Jamshedpur Chapter

Room#14, Centre for Excellence, Jamshedpur – 831 001 Tel: +91 657 2148883; Email: star@nmlindia.org; monojitdutta@tatasteel.com

Executive Committee (2012-2013)

Executive Committee of IIM, Jamshedpur Chapter for 2013-14

Chairman

Dr Soumitra Tarafder

Vice Chairman

Dr Sandip Bhattacharya Dr M K Agarwal

Secretary

Dr Monojit Dutta

Assistant Secretary Dr K L Sahoo

TreasurerMs Arthita Dey

Committee Members

Dr T Venugopalan Mr Nilotpal Dey Dr M D Maheshwari Dr Siddhartha Misra

Dr (Ms) Mita Tarafder Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya Dr Goutam Das Mr Dhirendra Prasad

Dr Ashok Kumar Mr Arpan Das **Chairman:** Dr Sandip Bhattacharya

Vice- Chairman: Prof. M. K. Agarwal

Dr S K Ajmani

Secretary: Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya

Asst. Secretary: Dr K L Sahoo

Treasurer: Mrs Arthita Dey

Jt. Treasurer: Mr Dhirendra Prasad

Members: Dr Soumitra Tarafder

Dr Monojit Dutta

Dr Mita Tarafder

Dr Ashok Kumar

Dr Siddhartha Mishra

Mr Arpan Das

Dr T Bhaskar

Mr Pinder Singh Mandley

Dr A N Bhagat

Ms Pankhuri Sinha