

The Indian Institute of Metals

Jamshedpur Chapter

Room#14, Centre for Excellence, Jamshedpur – 831 001
Tel: +91 657 2148883; Email: star@nmlindia.org; monojitdutta@tatasteel.com

Executive Committee (2012-2013)

Chairman

Dr Soumitra Tarafder

Vice Chairman

Dr Sandip Bhattacharyya Dr M K Agarwal

Secretary

Dr Monojit Dutta

Assistant Secretary Dr K L Sahoo

TreasurerMs Arthita Dev

Committee Members

Dr T Venugopalan Mr Nilotpal Dey Dr M D Maheshwari Dr Siddhartha Misra Dr (Ms) Mita Tarafder Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya Dr Goutam Das Mr Dhirendra Prasad Dr Ashok Kumar Mr Arpan Das

Minutes of Meeting of the Executive Committee

Venue: Room No. 14, Centre for Excellence **Date:** 15.03.2013 **Time:** 6:30 PM

Present:

Dr Soumitra Tarafder, Dr Sandip Bhattacharyya, Dr Monojit Dutta, Dr K L Sahoo, Ms Arthita Dey, Mr Nilotpal Dey, Dr M D Maheshwari, Dr (Ms) Mita Tarafder, Mr Dhirendra Prasad, Dr Ashok Kumar, Mr Arpan Das

Could not attend: Dr T Venugopalan, Dr M K Agarwal, Dr S Mishra, Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya, Dr Goutam Das

- 1. The Chairman welcomed the house and reviewed the minutes of the last EC meeting.
- 2. The Chairman also mentioned about issues discussed in the last Council Meeting such as plan for next NMD-ATM, income-expenditure of NMD-ATM 2012, accounting documents required from all chapters etc.
- 3. Ms Arthita Dey mentioned about the items discussed in Chapter Relation Committee meeting; major success of the chapter is to be reported in the next CRC meeting.
- 4. The Chairman urged that a proper chapter website be uploaded and maintained professionally. Dr M Tarafder informed the house that the chapter weblink (http://iimjsr.com) is up and running. Professional agencies will be contacted for upgrading and proper maintenance of the site. (Action: M Tarafder)
- 5. The status and planning of the forthcoming event (BTTD 2013) was discussed in detail. Dr KL Sahoo informed about a large number of participation (114 papers received and 107 online registrations so far). It was proposed to have 3 parallel sessions along with a separate poster session. It was decided: (i) to put effort for maximum fund generation, (ii) to give BTTD treasurer a seed money of Rs 25000, (iii) to arrange the registration kits and gifts from the NMD-ATM 2012 (excess items), (iv) to arrange one lunch and one dinner from NML and Tata Steel respectively and (v) to bear the remaining expenditure by IIM, Jamshedpur Chapter.
- 6. On future events, the following events were mentioned about:
 - Participation of the Chapter in 'STIS 2013' and in a conference (by NIT, Jamshedpur) in December 2013 and in a national seminar on coal and coke (by NML) in January 2014
 - International conference on Engineering Failure Analysis in next Feb/March
 - More workshops (topics to be decided later)
- 7. It was decided that Dr Ashok Kumar would continue as the Officer-in-Charge for AMIIM exams for one more year, which he kindly agreed too. (Action: Ashok Kumar)
- 8. The next EC meeting and the AGM will be held in May 2013 (Action: M Dutta & S Tarafder)

Compiled by Monojit Dutta 18 March 2013