

The Indian Institute of Metals

Jamshedpur Chapter

Room#14, Centre for Excellence, Jamshedpur – 831 001
Tel: +91 657 2148883; Email: star@nmlindia.org; monojitdutta@tatasteel.com

Executive Committee (2012-2013)

Chairman

Dr Soumitra Tarafder

Vice Chairman

Dr Sandip Bhattacharyya Dr M K Agarwal

Secretary

Dr Monojit Dutta

Assistant Secretary

Dr K L Sahoo

TreasurerMs Arthita Dey

Committee Members

Dr T Venugopalan Mr Nilotpal Dey Dr M D Maheshwari Dr Siddhartha Misra Dr (Ms) Mita Tarafder Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya Dr Goutam Das Mr Dhirendra Prasad Dr Ashok Kumar Mr Arpan Das

Minutes of Meeting of the Executive Committee

Venue: Room No. 14, Centre for Excellence **Date:** 19.09.2012 **Time:** 6:30 PM

Present:

Dr Soumitra Tarafder, Dr Sandip Bhattacharyya, Dr M K Agarwal, Dr Monojit Dutta, Dr K L Sahoo, Ms Arthita Dey, Dr T Venugopalan, Mr Nilotpal Dey, Dr M D Maheshwari, Dr S Mishra, Dr (Ms) Mita Tarafder, Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya, Dr Goutam Das, Mr Dhirendra Prasad, Dr Ashok Kumar, Mr Arpan Das

- 1. The chairman welcomed all the members present. The minutes of the last EC meeting was reviewed first.
- 2. On Chapter website, Dr S Mishra informed that the agency in Hyderabad is not responsive. The issue on IP address would be solved once the control is acquired in NML. (Action: S Mishra & M Tarafder)
- 3. It was decided that due to his keen interest in IIM activities, Dr T Bhaskar (from Usha Martin) will be henceforth invited to attend the EC meetings as a special invitee. (Action: M Dutta)
- 4. The Chapter membership list is to be continuously updated and the detail is to be uploaded in the website, once it starts functioning properly. (Action: D Prasad)
- 5. The house appreciated the efforts of Dr KL Sahoo and Dr MK Agarwal and the entire team for successfully organising the school level quiz in which 38 teams participated. The best team (from Loyola School) was selected for BPMMQ at Kalapakkam, which went up to the final round (best six teams). The house also appreciated the voluntary service of Mr N Dey to accompany and guide the team to Kalapakkam.
- 6. The treasurer informed the house (as was communicated earlier through e-mail) that one FD has been broken and encashed to meet the expenditure of the felicitation function of Mr HM Nerurkar (as the President of IIM).
- 7. The house was updated on the progress of various activities for NMD-ATM 2012, e.g. international symposium, ATM papers and parallel sessions, student programme etc. by Dr T Venugopalan, Dr M Tarafder and others.

Compiled by Monojit Dutta

25 September 2012