

## The Indian Institute of Metals

### **Jamshedpur Chapter**

Room#14, Centre for Excellence, Jamshedpur – 831 001 Tel: +91 657 2148883; Email: star@nmlindia.org; monojitdutta@tatasteel.com

# Executive Committee (2011-2012)

### Chairman

Dr Soumitra Tarafder

# Vice Chairman Dr Sandip

Bhattacharyya Dr M K Agarwal

### **Secretary**

Dr Monojit Dutta

# Assistant Secretary

Dr K L Sahoo

# **Treasurer**Ms Arthita Dev

# **Committee Members**

Dr T Venugopalan
Mr Nilotpal Dey
Dr M D Maheshwari
Dr Siddhartha Misra
Dr (Ms) Mita
Tarafder
Mr Tanmay
Bhattacharyya
Dr Goutam Das
Mr Dhirendra
Prasad
Dr Ashok Kumar
Mr Arpan Das

### **Minutes of Meeting of the Executive Committee**

**Venue:** Room No. 14, Centre for Excellence **Date:** 05.04.2012 **Time:** 6:30 PM

#### **Present:**

Dr Soumitra Tarafder, Dr Sandip Bhattacharyya, Dr M K Agarwal, Dr Monojit Dutta, Ms Arthita Dey, Dr T Venugopalan, Mr Nilotpal Dey, Dr M D Maheshwari, Dr S Mishra, Dr (Ms) Mita Tarafder, Mr Tanmay Bhattacharyya, Mr Dhirendra Prasad, Dr Ashok Kumar

- \* Dr K L Sahoo, Dr Goutam Das and Mr Arpan Das could not attend
  - 1. The chairman welcomed all the members present.
- 2. BTTD: The House appreciated the effort of the Convener and Organising Committee in organising the student program well. A report is to be sent to the IIM Head Office and also to Mr Pugazhenthi, with a request to upgrade this Chapter activity to a national event similar to the Brahm Prakash Memorial Materials Quiz. Convener to send the final draft to the Secretary for onward transmission. (Action: M Tarafder & M Dutta)
- 3. The felicitation of NMD awardees and the MS Khan Memorial lecture programme are proposed to be clubbed on 21<sup>st</sup> April 2012. The date is to be finalised based on the availability of the Chief Guest. **Dr T Venugopalan** to confirm. The proposed venue (TMDC auditorium) is to be arranged by **Mr T Bhattacharyya** after the date is confirmed.
- 4. A three member committee was constituted comprising **Prof MK Agarwal, Dr MD Maheshwari and Dr T Venugopalan** to select the candidate for MS Khan Memorial award. The award may be presented on the date for item 3.
- 5. Technica: The House expressed its displeasure on the hurried way this programme was organised and the fact that it coincided with BTTD. A minimum support amount of Rs 30000 would be given by IIM Jamshedpur towards the expenditure for the programme.
- 6. It was decided that IIM Jamshedpur will provide a 'Seed Money' of Rs. 200000 to the account of NMD-ATM 2012.
- 7. The audited balance sheet is to be sent to the IIM HO soon. The treasurer was advised to analyse and compare last few years' audit charges to examine if they are proportional to the total financial transaction. (**Action: A Dey**)
- 8. It was decided that **Prof Ashok Kumar** will take over from **Prof MK Agarwal** as the Officer-in-Charge of AMIIM examinations for the Jamshedpur Centre.
- 9. A Chapter directory with all member addresses is to be prepared **Mr D Prasad** to coordinate.
- 10.Dr T Venugopalan advised that the Chapter should have a budget planning at the start of the year so that financial shortfalls are avoided.

Compiled by Monojit Dutta

9 April 2012